Speakers and Participants
Go to Details of the Inaugural UEA India Symposium
Go to Literary Activism: A Statement
Go to Programme
Abhijit Gupta is Associate Professor of English at Jadavpur University, and Director, Jadavpur University Press. He is co-editor, along with Swapan Chakravorty of the ‘Book History in India’ series. His research areas include publishing histories, SF, graphic novels, and physical cultures.
Amit Chaudhuri
Ananda Lal is Professor and Coordinator, Centre of Advanced Study in English, and Coordinator, Rabindranath Studies Centre, Jadavpur University; Director, Writers Workshop; theatre critic, The Telegraph; translator, editor, scriptwriter and theatre director. Books include Rabindranath Tagore: Three Plays and the Oxford Companion to Indian Theatre.
Anjum Hasan is the author of the short story collection Difficult Pleasures, the novels Neti, Neti and Lunatic in my Head and the collection of poems, Street on the Hill. She is Books Editor at The Caravan magazine and lives in Bangalore.
Arvind Krishna Mehrotra ‘s Collected Poems 1969-2014 has just been published. He has also edited The Oxford India Anthology of Twelve Modern Indian Poets (1992), Collected Poems in English by Arun Kolatkar (2010), and An Illustrated History of Indian Literature in English (2002), and translated The Absent Traveller: Prakrit Love Poetry (2008) and Songs of Kabir (2011). A volume of his essays, Partial Recall: Essays on Literature and Literary History was published 2012. He lives in Allahabad and Dehradun.
Benjamin Kunkel is a founding editor of n+1 magazine and the author of Indecision, a novel; Utopia or Bust, a collection of essays; and Buzz, a play.
Chinmay Guha is Former Vice-Chancellor, Rabindra Bharati. Twice knighted by Ministries of Culture and Education, Government of France. Former Director, Embassy of France in India in New Delhi. Former literary Editor, Desh.
David Graham has been involved at a senior level in UK independent publishing for over 20 years. During this time he has been Managing Director of Canongate Books (2000 to 2006), Granta Publications (2006 to 2009) The Aurum Publishing Group (2011 to 2013) where he launched the a new literary imprint, Union Books. He is currently MD of illustrated non-fiction publishing group, Pavilion Books. He lives in London and Scotland with his wife, award winning author Kirsty Gunn and their two daughters.
Derek Attridge teaches in the Department of English and Related Literature at the University of York, UK, and is a Fellow of the British Academy. He is the author or editor of over twenty books, most recently of Moving Words: Forms of English Poetry (Oxford University Press). Forthcoming in 2015 are The Work of Literature (Oxford University Press) and, with Henry Staten, The Craft of Poetry: Dialogues on Minimal Interpretation (Routledge).
Dubravka Ugresic is a “post-Yugoslav” writer. She was a well-known writer in former Yugoslavia. At the beginning of 1991 she protested against the “culture of lies” (nationalism, war, conformism, corruption), got attacked in Croatian media and heavily ostracized. In 1993 she left Croatia and her job at Zagreb University, and within the time settled in Netherlands. She writes novels, essays and short stories, and occasionally teaches at (mostly) American Universities.
James McKendrick has published six books of poetry, most recently Out There which won the Hawthornden Prize. As well as Bassani’s prose, he has translated Valreio Magrelli’s poems, The Embrace, which won the Oxford-Weidenfeld Prize and the John Florio Prize.
Jon Cook is Professor of Literature and Director of the Centre for Creative and Performing Arts at UEA. His recent publication include a collection of essays, After Sebald, and a biographical study, Hazlitt in Love. He is co-director with Amit Chaudhuri of the UEA India initiative.
Laetitia Zecchini is a permanent research fellow at the CNRS in Paris. She has recently published a translation of Kolatkar’s Kala Ghoda Poems into French (Gallimard, 2013) and Arun Kolatkar and Literary Modernism in India, Moving Lines (Bloomsbury, 2014).
Naveen Kishore is publisher, Seagull Books.
Peter D McDonald is Professor of English and Related Literatures at the University of Oxford. His research focuses on the socio-political space of literary production and literature as a specific mode of thinking. His main publications include British Literary Culture and Publishing Practice, 1880-1914(Cambridge, 1997) and The Literature Police: Apartheid Censorship and its Cultural Consequences(Oxford, 2009). He is currently working on a book about literature and internationalism since the 1860s.
Rosinka Chaudhuri is Professor in Cultural Studies at the Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta. Her latest books are Freedom and Beef-Steaks: Colonial Calcutta Culture (Orient Blackswan: 2012) and The Literary Thing: History, Poetry and the Making of a Modern Literary Culture (Oxford University Press: 2013, Peter Lang: 2014). She has translated, for the first time, the complete text of the letters Rabindranath Tagore wrote to his niece Indira Debi as a young man, calling it Letters from a Young Poet (1887-94) (Penguin Modern Classics, 2014).
Saikat Majumdar teaches English at Stanford University and is the author of a novel, Silverfish (2007), and a book of criticism, Prose of the World (2013). He is currently working on a book on the literary public intellectual from the global British Empire as an amateur and autodidactic figure. His second novel, The Firebird, set in the world of Calcutta theatre, will be published in April 2015.
Samantak Das has successfully prolonged his misspent youth by remaining in university for more than 50% of his life, during which period he has written and lectured on 19th-century literature, translation, the relationship between the biological sciences and literature, environment, ecology and primary education. He spends a fair amount of time in rural Bengal, as a volunteer for an NGO that provides vocational training for economic rehabilitation to impoverished young women and men. His favourite activity is sleeping.
Shanta Dutta is Professor and Head, Dept of English, Presidency University, and currently the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences. She gained her Ph.D. in 1996 from the University of Leicester, on a three-year Commonwealth Academic Staff Scholarship, and in 2011 she was Visiting fellow at Yale University on a Fulbright-Nehru Senior Research Fellowship. Her book, Ambivalence in Hardy: A Study of his Attitude to Women, was published by Palgrave in 2000.
Swapan Chakraborty is Professor of English, Jadavpur University. He was Director General, National Library, Kolkata (2010-2013), and Secretary and Curator of the Victoria Memorial Hall (2012-2013). His books include Society and Politics in the Plays of Thomas Middleton (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1996), Conversations with Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak (with Suzana Milevska and Tani E. Barlow) (London: Seagull, 2007), Bangalir ingreji sahityacharcha (Kolkata: Anustup, 2006), and Shakespeare (Kolkata: Papyrus, 1999). He has edited three volumes on book history with Abhijit Gupta, Print Areas: Book History in India (Delhi: Permanent Black, 2004), Moveable Type: Book History in India (Delhi: Permanent Black, 2008), and New Word Order: Transnational Themes in Book History (Delhi: Worldview, 2011).